ARFC Elects 2013-14 Executive

arfc logoThe Abbotsford Rugby Club had its annual general meeting on May 30 and voted in a new executive group for the 2013-14 season. After two successful years, Todd Di Guistini has stepped down from president due to work commitments. Chris Farley, Mouat teacher and rugby coach, as well as Abbotsford men's assistant coach, was elected as the new club president. Jerusha Dunsmore was elected into the role of Vice President. Youngster Bryce Hewko is a new member at large, who demonstrated his commitment to the club during recent renovations and as the first mini-rugby player to move through all of our youth programs and play men's. The executive is full of strong leaders and the group looks forward to another successful year for the club. Please read on to view the 2013-14 ARFC executive.

Fraser Valley Rep Trials

fvruFraser Valley representative trials are now underway in the Fraser Valley. This year there will be Valley teams competing for boys at the U-14, U-15, U-16 and U-18 levels. For girls there are U-16 and U-18 teams. Please read on for more information on trial dates and locations.


Justin Douglas, Ryan March and Jorden Best, all products of Robert Bateman Secondary, have been selected to play for Canada U-20 in the World Junior Trophy (WJT) competition in Chile. Of the 26 traveling players from across the country, 11 are from BC and three are Abbotsford products. We wish our local players the best of luck in their trip!

Jen Ross is Rugby Canada Female Coach of the Year

WEB-Jen-RossAbbotsford's Jen Ross was recognized as the 2012 Canadian Female Coach of the Year this past weekend at the inaugural Rugby Canada Awards Dinner.

A former national team player, Ross has volunteered hundreds of hours to help develop girls rugby in British Columbia and specifically, in the Fraser Valley. Several of her players have gone on to play for BC’s provincial programs, including those recently shortlisted on the Rugby Canada U20 roster announcement ahead of the junior women’s Nation’s Cup this summer.


The ARFC had their annual awards banquet on Friday, May 17 to recognize the achievements of the year. Players from 5 different senior teams were recognized, as were recipients of club awards, including Fan of the Year and Club Member of the Year. Jen Ross was also recognized for her achievement of Rugby Canada Female Coach of the Year.

Abby Div 2 Men Win Provincial Title

Congratulations to the Abbotsford Div 2 Men's team who won the BC Provincial Title May 11 at Klahanie Park with a 36-26 win over Surrey. Tries were scored by Brian Chin, Tanner Saliken, Gareth Bartlett, Iqbal Sidhu and Tyler Adams. Jordan Tait added 4 converts and Bryce Hewko got a penalty kick. The Div 1 and 3 sides were also in the finals but ran out of time while still behind on the score board.

Courtesy of Dan Kinvig of the Abbotsford News (click here for link to picture slide show) 

Saturday didn’t bring the kind of sweeping success the Abbotsford Rugby Football Club might have envisioned, but the provincial championship festivities at Klahanie Park in West Vancouver still represented one of the proudest moments in club history.

A trio of local men’s sides had battled their way to their respective divisions’ B.C. finals – an unprecedented feat for the ARFC.

The Div. 2 squad hoisted their trophy, downing the Surrey Beavers 36-26 in the Okanagan Spring Brewery League 2 final.

But the Div. 1 team fell short of promotion to the CDI Premier League, dropping a 31-27 decision to the Vancouver Rowing Club, and Abby also sustained a defeat in the Div. 3 Tier B final, falling 27-12 to Capilano.

That only one of the three emerged victorious admittedly stung a little, ARFC head coach Jason Young said. But in the big picture, it’s hard to find fault with what the local club accomplished this season.

“To be on the (losing) end of a final like that, it’s pretty disappointing,” Young said, referring to the Div. 1 game which went down to the wire. “But overall, I look at it now, and having three teams in the final, there are a lot of clubs who would love to be in our place.

“It was a great day for the club, no matter win or loss.”

The Div. 2 side supplied the highlight, racing out to a 26-0 lead before staving off a determined rally from the Beavers. Brian Chin, Tanner Saliken, Gareth Bartlett, Iqbal Sidhu and Tyler Adams scored tries, while Jordan Tait notched four converts and Bryce Hewko booted a penalty.

“We started out on fire,” Young noted. “We went to sleep for a little bit, but we pulled it out in the end. It was just all the young guys pulling together – it was a good team win.”

The Div. 1 squad had beaten the Vancouver Rowing Club twice earlier this season, and led 12-10 at the half. But the Rowers surged to a 24-15 lead shortly after the break, and held off a resilient Abby team down the stretch.

Brent Bradbury, Pat Shields, Dan Helm and Lucas de Beer notched tries for the ARFC, while Some Mosegau kicked a pair of converts and a penalty.

“There was tons of intensity in the air, and guys were out there laying their bodies on the line,” Young said. “On the day, someone has to be the loser, and unfortunately it was us.”

In the Div. 3 Tier B final, top-seeded Abby and third-ranked Capilano were tied 7-7 at the break, but the underdog squad carried the play in the second half. Abby’s points came courtesy of Lane Tennant and Brian Cuthbertson tries and a conversion from Khaene Hirschman.

Who's Online

We have 24 guests and no members online

ARFC Clubhouse

31929 Mercantile Way
Abbotsford, B.C.
V2T 4C3

ARFC Home Field

CFV Exhibition Park
32315 Haida Drive,
Abbotsford, B.C.

website security